writing

A New Chapter {or Draft}

So…I have officially started working on the first draft of my second book.

Will: The Homeschool Kids.

I have not yet completed Daisy: The Homeschool Kids, but it is being edited (getting really close!), so I decided to begin my next WIP.

I’m really excited to be starting this for several reasons:

  • Working on the same story for two and a half years is tiring. I mean, being a writer, your mind is always getting bombarded with new ideas! But I’ve had this idea in my head for almost the same amount of time. I’ve been dying to start it!
  • I’ve learned so much about writing since I started my first novel. Something about having a clean slate and a mind full of newfound skills… I mean, sure. It’s not like I didn’t do ok on the first one. I really did my best! And the feedback is helping. But I’ve not started a new project since I started writing. So I’ll definitely be putting what I’ve learned into practice.
  • I really like Will. He’s probably my favorite character that I’ve made. (Creating characters is seriously- to me anyway- the most fun part of writing! And I love Will!) So, I’m super excited to learn more about him, and his personality as I write this draft.
  • I get a chance to have a better process and schedule. If I may say so, I did not do so well the first time around. I mean, sure, I’m editing and close to publishing. But it was a long, drawn out couple of years. I wouldn’t even pick up my WIP for months at a time! I didn’t have a clear vision of how I wanted things to go. I didn’t even know any other writers who could help me along to way! But now, I’ll be able to have set times to complete drafts, hopefully have people to look at it and give feedback earlier on, and also, I’ll know how to publish. I’ll have done it all before. And I can treat it more like a job, with a schedule and set deadlines.

It was always hard to just wait to start it. Because I was afraid, if I did, I’d get sick of working with it, just like with my first novel (luckily, I’ve come out of that phase)!

Now though, being so close to publishing, and waiting for the rest of my novel’s feedback, I feel like it’s a good time to start. I’ve been planning for a while, and I now have an outline (which may or may not help, we’ll see). So! I am super excited to get started!

About Daisy: The Homeschool Kids… My goal is being pushed back further than I’d hoped. I’d been busy with VBS, getting ready for church camp, and I kind of got my book sent out later than planned (my bad- I hadn’t finished it yet). But! I am still editing, awaiting feedback, and hoping to publish sometime before the summer is over. Hopefully I’ll have an update on that soon!

A shorter post today, but I just wanted to share a little update!

How is your WIP coming? What stage are you in? Planning, drafting, revising, editing? Publishing??

Leave a Reply

