Hello everyone! Just wanted to share a little update about where I am in my writing!

So, my book is ‘Daisy: The Homeschool Kids’ (read more about it here) It’s eleven chapters long- I have finished revising chapters 1-3 (really 1-4, but there’s a scene in chapter 4 that I’m not sure about yet)! 

I’m currently working on chapter 11. I thought it’d help me to switch things around a little, so I decided to go from back to front for a few chapters. Plus, always good to have the ending down, so. 

It is soooo hard not to get frustrated with my work. I mean, is it good enough? Should I publish it? What if people don’t like it?

I just recently got some real feedback for the first time. For the most part, I took it well and am taking some things into consideration. 

But gosh it’s hard! I mean, that is a real struggle for me. I’ll just be convincing myself that it’s good, and then I’ll read more of my writing…

It’s funny, though. Just recently, I was told though, “You can’t keep writing it forever. Eventually you’re gonna have to stop and just publish it.” And I think that’s mostly true (if you’ve really been working on it). I mean, not everyone is going to like my story.

Not everyone is going to like your story.

And that is completely ok! I need to tell myself this as well; but if you’ve really worked hard on your book, there comes a point where there’s really not anything else you can do. You can’t please everyone. Some people are not going to like my story. There are always going to be people who have mean things to say about it. Even just people who are there to tell you how it could be better. But some people are going to love it!

But anyway, getting frustrated with my writing is one of my biggest struggles! And with not many people who can read it and give feedback, well. Let’s just say it meant a lot to get some advice on my first chapter!! 

I’ve really gotten extra motivated though lately- I’m not exactly sure why, but hey. Who cares!

I’ve got myself to the point where I’m so excited about publishing, getting my very first book out there, and also just the fact that I’ve been working on it for over two years, and yes: there comes a time when there really isn’t anything more you can do. 

My plan right now is to do a final edit on my remaining chapters, then go back and add in a couple of things I’ve gotten feedback on! (And if you would be interested in reading some homeschool, Christian fiction, let me know! I would love some feedback, even if it’s just the first chapter or two!) 

Guys, I am seriously excited!! My current goal is just to get my book out on Amazon before my birthday in July. Like. Sometimes I just have sit and think like, I have literally written a book. And I am going to publish it!! And even more exciting, I get to start on the next book in the series!! (I have tried doing both at the same time. Does not work, because I will always go to the one I haven’t worked on for two years!!

I’m hoping to write four to five books in this series- I haven’t decided yet! My gosh, I am just so beyond excited! To God be the glory! I’m so glad He’s given me this talent and passion because I absolutely love it!

If you would read this when it comes out, let me know!!! Or go check out more about it on my page Daisy: The Homeschool Kids!

Also, if anyone needs some feedback on their writing, I’d be glad to check it out! 

Happy writing, y’all!

2 thoughts on “Writing Update 

  1. Eeep! This is so exciting! I can’t wait to read your book when it’s out!

    I totally get what it’s like to be frustrated. I’ve been working on my novel for coming on three years now. Only this past fall did I REALLY start to consider publishing it. Right now I’m drowning in beta reader feedback, but I’m hoping that this rewrite I’m about to start will be the last. It will be a relief to finally have that troublesome first book set in stone so I can get on with the rest of the trilogy 😛

    Super excited for you book! You’ve got this ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

