Music

My Favorite Songs

Heyyyy everyone! I don’t know about y’all, but I do not and haven’t ever had a favorite song. Not really anyway. Sure, there have been some I’ve really liked, but normally, I move on from them after a while.

So, here’s a few that I’m really obsessed with right now.

  • East to West – Casting Crowns

Ok, before I say anything else, I’m gonna go ahead and say, I have more than a few Favorite Casting Crowns songs. They’re literally my favorite band, and I think of one of their songs I’ve heard that I don’t like (I guess picking a favorite band isn’t as hard as picking a song!)

Anyway, I’ve listened to this song a lot lately. I really like it, and the words are just so comforting.

I know you’ve cast my sin as far as the East is from the West. And I stand before you now as though I’ve never sinned. But today I feel like I’m just one mistake away from you leaving me this way.

Jesus can you show me just how far the East is from the West. Because I can’t bear to see the man I’ve been, come rising up in me again. In the arms of your mercy I find rest. Because you know just how far the East is from the West. From one scarred hand to the other.

I kinda had a bit of an epiphany with that last part recently. I guess that’s kind of when I started listening to it more. From one scarred hand to the other… Wow! Like, because Jesus died for us, we now have His righteousness. When God looks at us, He doesn’t see our sin. He sees Jesus, and the price He paid. From one scarred hand to the other… 

Then the song ends with a different chorus:

Jesus, You know just how far the East is from the West. I don’t have to see the man I’ve been, come rising up in me again. In the arms of your mercy I find rest. Because you know just how far the East is from the West, from one scarred hand to the other. 

Guys, seriously, I love that song so much! I guess I’ll move on now!

  • Just As I Am

Just as I am without one plea. But that thy blood was shed for me. And that thou bidst me come to thee, O Lamb or God I come. I come.

Just as I am and waiting not to rid my soul of one dark blot. To thee whose blood can cleanse each spot, O Lamb of God I come. I come.

I come broken to be mended. I come wounded to be healed. I come desperate to be rescued. I come empty to be filled. I come guilty to be pardoned by the blood of Christ the Lamb. And I’m welcomed with open arms, praise God Just As I Am.

This song is just amazzzzing! Talking about coming to Him just as we are. I’ve always loved this song, and haven’t ever stopped. It’s just so awesome.

  • Forever – Kari Jobe

This song just gets me excited! I can’t think of any other way to put it. 

The ground began to shake. The stone was rolled away. His perfect love could not be overcome. Now death, where is your sting? Our resurrected King has rendered you defeated!

Forever He is glorified! Forever He is lifted high! Forever He is risen! He is alive! 

I love it guys!

  • Voice of Truth – Casting Crowns

(Yep, here’s my next CC song! If you don’t listen to their songs, well… listen to them!!!) 

Oh what I would do to have the kind of faith it takes to climb out of this boat and onto the crashing waves. To step out of my comfort zone into the realm of the unknown where Jesus is, and He’s holding out His hand.

But the waves are calling out my name and they laugh at me, reminding me of all the times I’ve tried before and failed. The waves they keep on telling me, time and time again, you’ll never win. You’ll never win.

But the voice of truth tells me a different story. The voice of truth says do not be afraid. And the voice of truth says this is for my glory. Out of all the voices calling out to me, I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth. 

Don’t listen to the voice telling you can’t. Don’t listen to the voice reminding you of your failures! Listen to the voice of truth, who says this is for my glory! 

But the stone was just the right size to put the giant on the ground. And the waves they don’t seem so high from the top of them looking down. I will soar with the wings of eagles, when I stop and listen to the sound of Jesus, singing over me.

Have faith, and listen to the Voice of Truth.

  • Flawless – MercyMe

(MercyMe would be my second favorite Christian band!) 

No matter the bumps, no matter the bruises, no matter the scars, still the truth is the cross has made, the cross has made you Flawless. No matter the hurt or how deep the wound is. No matter the pain, still the truth is the cross has made, the cross has made you Flawless. 

Take a breath and smile and say right here right now, I’m ok because, the cross was enough. 

I just love this song! Because of Jesus, because of His sacrifice that covered every man’s sins, we are made flawless. (Also, go watch the music video! I don’t normally watch music videos, but this one was just awesome!)

  • Just Be Held – Casting Crowns 

So when you’re on your knees and answers seem so far away, you’re not alone. Stop holding on and just be held. Your world’s not falling apart, it’s falling into place. I’m on the throne. Stop holding on and just be held. Just be held.

I don’t know. This song is just really comforting. A reminder that God is in control, and we just have to trust in him. Just be held. He hears us. He answers prayer. He. Is. There. Love this song.

  • Trust in You – Lauren Daigle

When you don’t move the mountains I’m needing you to move. When you don’t part the waters I wish I could walk through. When you don’t give the answers, as I cry out to you. I will trust, I will trust, I will trust in you.

No matter what you’re going through, God is there. And sometimes we may not feel like He is. But we just have to trust Him. 

  • It is Finished – Matt Papa

Ok. If you have not heard this song, go listen to it! I had not heard of Matt Papa before camp two years ago, but I love his music now! There is so much in this song- but I’m not gonna type out the whole thing- go listen to it!

The earth shook and trembled, the sun bowed it’s head. The veil of the temple was opened for men. As Jesus went down in the cold of the grave, defeated the darkness when He overcame. The keys of the Kingdomwere placed into hands of children and priests and of fishers of men. Through all generations, His voice will be heard. Creation resounds the victorious words:

It is finished, it is done. To the world salvation comes. Hallelujah, we’re alive. Hell was silenced when You cried: it is finished, it is done. Now completed the work of love. Hallelujah, He’s alive! Join the song of the ransomed bride. It is finished!

For real. Go listen to this song. And with this Sunday being Easter, it just goes along perfectly!

  • Never Gonna Fade Away – Livy 

I just heard this song when I looked at Livy’s (the founder of Crown of Beauty Magazine) YouTube. And I love it! Go look it up! 

One thing remains through the thunder and the rain. The words of the Author, the strength of my Father carries me. Carries me.

I’ve got faith as an anchor, I’ve got hope as a Savior, I’ve got promises that are never gonna fade away, fade away. I’ve got peace for tomorrow, I’ve got joy instead of sorrow. I’ve got love that’s never gonna fade away.

Go listen to it here! It’s soooo good! She’s written some pretty songs! 

  • Be Still and Know – Hannah Kerr

Ok, so yes, partly I like this song because Mark Hall, the lead singer of Casting Crowns, is in it…(guilty!) 

But it’s also just a really comforting song. 

When your heart is anything but quiet, and peace feels a million miles away. When the world is heavy on your shoulders, and you don’t know the path that you should take. When you cry out to the Lord, and your broken voice is weak. When you can’t stand anymore, He’ll meet you on your knees.

Be Still and know, you don’t have to worry. Be Still and know, He’ll find you where you are. He is good. His love will never let you go. Trust Him, be still, and know.

  • Oh My Soul – Casting Crowns

Another Casting Crowns song… I only just recently heard this song, and I really like it! 

Oh my soul, you are not alone. There’s a place where fear has to face the God  you know. One more day, He will make a way. Let Him show you how you can lay this down. Cause you’re not alone.

And this is just a few, I guess! These are the ones though, that have really stood out to me lately. A couple of thoughts: 

  • Go listen to Casting Crowns!
  • Listen to Christian music. And if you do already, really listen to the words. Because if you’re really listening, you’re going to realize what the words mean, and you’re gonna wanna worship God even more!
  • Go listen to Casting Crowns!
  • Look up Livy on YouTube! Her songs are so beautiful!
  • Did I mention that Casting Crowns is awesome?

Have a blessed day, y’all!

1 thought on “My Favorite Songs”

Leave a Reply

