Book Review

‘Regal Hearts’ Review.

I am all about fiction- I love reading it, and I also love writing it. Unfortunately, as a Christian, teenage girl; good, clean fiction isn’t always so easy to find. So many books are just full of content that isn’t appropriate for girls my age, or Christian’s in general.


I am super excited that Livy- the founder of Crown of Beauty Magazine– has written a Kindle book series in the form of ‘episodes,’ like a TV show. Each are about 25 pages long and end in a cliff hanger- and let me say, I can’t wait for the next one!

The first episode begins to show the lives of different girls who, when they were only just born, had to be lowered out of the castle in a basket to escape the massacre that took the lives of their mother (the queen) and many others. My favorite quote from this episode comes at the very beginning, said by the nurse just before her life is taken:

“The safest place they could possibly be…in God’s hands.”

Fast forward sixteen years to the very different lives each girl is now living. This is a must read! I very much so enjoyed it and cannot wait for the next episode to be released.

From a reader’s perspective:

I really loved this story. It hooks you from the beginning, jumping right into the action. I love exciting Christian fiction stories, and I feel like this story has the perfect balance of action, but also relatable, everyday life. The variety of character personalities is awesome- I think every girl can relate to at least one of the characters in one way or another. And each of their stories is unique. Not one of them had me wishing “Ok, let’s just get back to this character, because this one isn’t as exciting.” They’re all fun, and relatable, and interesting. And the ending… Well, it’s definitely a cliff hanger! It will definitely leave every reader waiting for the next one. I know I am!

From a writer’s perspective:

Some books I read, there’s not enough description. Others, there’s an overwhelming amount of it. I think Livy does a great job describing the character’s and scenes well, but leaving enough room for imagination. You definitely learn more about the character’s personality rather than their looks. The characters are great. Each of them are written and described well. They all stand out from each other in both the lives they live, and their personalities and characteristics.

From a Christian, teenager’s perspective:

As I said before, these characters are relatable. Even in some of the most exciting fiction, despite how well written and jump-off-the-page the characters are, they just aren’t as relatable. These teenage girls Livy has written about are just normal, teenage girls. Yes, they live differently than some do, but they’re still everyday, teenage girls with some of the same qualities and characteristics we have. And they (in their own, fictional world) need God just like we do. I’m excited to be introduced to these characters even further in the future.

This book is clean, relatable, exciting, and a good read for all Christian girls. It’s also easy to read, being in ‘episode’ format, so even those who can’t seem to get through long novels can read this.

Livy, it’s so cool to see how God is using you to write these stories, as well as use Crown of Beauty Magazine to glorify Him and make an impact on girls lives! I hope to do the same one day; thank you for letting me be a part of your blog tour!

Go get ‘Regal Hearts’ on Amazon! https://www.amazon.com/Regal-Hearts-Episode-Unlikely-Princess-ebook/dp/B06XH3XR6Q/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1490296455&sr=8-1&keywords=regal+hearts+livy+jarmusch

9 thoughts on “‘Regal Hearts’ Review.”

  1. Thank you so much for being part of the tour Riley! I’m so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the first Episode! The next one comes, next Friday!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I loved to see the different perspectives that you reviewed from. Very good and made for an interesting and thought provoking post.

    It is amazing so far! I can’t wait for the next episode!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

