writing

How I Stay Motivated as a Writer.

Hey guys! So, if you’ve been writing for a while, especially with the goal of publishing in mind, you’ve learned a couple of things:

  • You don’t always have time to write.
  • It gets frustrating.
  • It’s hard.
  • You hate your work (sometimes, anyway!)

 

Well, guess what? Been there. Sometimes I just am not motivated. I’ve been working on the same story for two years. Yes, I know there are people who work on their novel or story for a lot longer time than that. But with new story ideas popping into my head all the time, I just get the feeling of I should be done by now. But I’m not. And I think we can all agree that there are reasons for that.

 

  • You don’t always have time to write.

I know I don’t. There are other things I have to do in a day. Plus, being 15, I have school work to get done as well. I have chores. I have other things I enjoy doing. It can get overwhelming, all the things I feel like I need to accomplish. So, at the end of the day, writing seems almost like a chore in itself.

 

  • It gets frustrating.

It really does. Like I said, working on the same story idea for two years seems like a long time. Especially for someone who’s eager to finally get their first book published. I’ve been working on this for forever! Well, not long enough, because it’s still unfinished. Sometimes giving up just seems like the easy thing to do, right?

 

  • It gets hard.

Writing is not always easy. I know I could’ve done a much better job planning and outlining my story (then maybe it wouldn’t be so frustrating). There are people who say writing a book doesn’t take work. They say anyone can do it. Right?

No! It is hard. It does take time. We know from experience! You have to plan, and outline, and write the first draft, and revise, and edit, and possibly publish one day. It does get hard and it does get overwhelming!

 

  • You hate your work.

This right here is my biggest problem. After working on the same story for two years, and other ideas I want to start working on pop into my head, it gets really boring. I just want to give up. I just want to move on. I just want to scrap this idea! And that’s because I wrote it. Of course I don’t like my work – sometimes I can’t stand it.

Do any of you ever wish you just step outside of the writer in you, and into the reader? Look at your story from a reader’s perspective? I do. And while that’s not really the easiest thing to do, there are ways to stay motivated as a writer.

 

  • You wrote a story.

It’s true. You wrote a story. And you didn’t just write a story. I didn’t just write a story. You wrote a story that no one else can write. Only you can write it. And I believe that alone is a good motivator. Writing a story is quite an accomplishment, because, like I said before, it’s hard. Tell yourself this often! I know I have to.

 

  • You can’t publish it if you can’t finish it.

You just can’t! And again, as someone who is eager to publish, I have to actually have a finished product to do that (the book isn’t going to write itself! Although, that’d be cool!) And to go along with this point, I always tell myself, “If you can’t finish this idea, you’ll never finish another one.” And I feel like that’s true. Sure, you can put your first idea aside. Move on to the next one. But how do you know you won’t do the exact same thing with that one? I know I might. So, for me, finishing my first book, yes, that’s a big accomplishment in and of itself. But it will also provide motivation for books I may write in the future.

 

  • Set a time and stick to it.

Yes, it gets frustrating. But we already talked about that! Sometimes, you just have to sit down and start writing. So, set a certain time every day, and stick to it! No matter what! Sometimes, all it takes is sitting down. Then, before you know it, you’re writing away! You just have to discipline yourself to do it. I, personally, like to set goals in my bullet journal (bullet journals are the bomb!)  In my revising, I’m working chapter by chapter, and I have certain deadlines for each one. I admit, I don’t always meet the deadline, but it keeps me motivated to try!

 

  • Take it bit by bit.

I said earlier I tend to get really frustrated with my work – sometimes I even tell myself I hate it. If that’s your problem, try not to look at your book as a whole! Take it piece by piece.

Like I said, I like to work chapter by chapter – even break the chapters down into sections. And each time I sit down to write, I only focus on that part of the book. And I try not to move on until I have it just the way I want it. This helps me because, then, I’m not saying, I hate this story! I’m fixing what I don’t like about each part of the book, one piece at a time. This has probably been the biggest help for me, because I often get frustrated with the whole book and want to just give up. But I can’t! And you don’t give up either! If this is your dream, pursue it!

 

Another way to get motivated, though, is to have someone else’s perspective on your story. Get feedback/criticism. Find someone to read your story and give you an honest opinion. I know I like hearing what other people think about my book.

 

Go check out my “Daisy: The Homeschool Kids” page! It’s a little description about my story.

 

Let me know in the comments what keeps you motivated, and what your story is about. I’d love to see what y’all are writing. Thanks for stopping by! Happy writing!

1 thought on “How I Stay Motivated as a Writer.”

Leave a Reply

