writing

And Then, I Started Writing.

I’ve always been the kind of person who loved journaling. But I had no idea it would lead me to a passion for fiction writing.

So back in 2013, I really got into journaling. Just, writing about my day, getting my thoughts down on paper. Nothing as far as a story. Just simply journaling what happened in my life.

It got to be a bit of an obsession, honestly. By the end of 2014, my New Year’s resolution was to write about every single day as it came. Try to keep it up throughout the year.

About the same time, I would always find myself daydreaming. About movies, books, or just simple What If’s. I daydreamed a lot. Like, a lot. When I was bored, when we were on a car trip, when I was going to sleep. And I honestly didn’t realize for a while that I’d actually dreamed up a couple of characters of my own. Characters with names. Characters with personalities.

Characters who could maybe fit into a story?

One day in late February of 2015, I just…started writing. I grabbed an empty notebook, and started scribbling down scene ideas. Started forming a plot. Started giving life to the characters who’d been rolling around in my head for maybe months. No, it wasn’t the same as journaling, but I was used to writing. Somehow, it got me ready for writing.

Then I got excited. Really excited. Like, I’m actually writing a book. I’d finished the first draft within a month or two. I know, I know. It was only the first draft. There was still a lot left to do and plan and revise and edit.

But my journey had begun.

1 thought on “And Then, I Started Writing.”

Leave a Reply

